Read On!

Mrs. Farquharson’s musings about books for children and young adults

Winnie the Pooh

October18

One of my favorite books to share with children is Winnie the Pooh by A.A. Milne. When I introduce the book to my third graders at the beginning of our author study, I often hear some groans or see some of them roll their eyes. I let them voice their doubts which are always that the book is for younger children, or that they’ve seen the Disney version. I ask them to trust me, and we dive into the background of Milne’s life and begin to read the book. By the time that we have finished the book and unit, every child is a fan of Milne. Their ending comments are always that “younger” children can’t appreciate the humor in the book. They enjoy knowing about Christopher Robin and his toys.

Imagine my joy in learning from a colleague that Winnie-the-Pooh was featured on CBS Sunday Morning. Check it out…and if you ever want to talk about Winnie, stop by to see me!

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=w7mgjsP02UE&list=UUbzPRxg_tdCdIeLZLFgJbWg&index=1&feature=plcp

*Pooh and Piglet, adapted from Iwona Erskine-Kellie (original illustration from Ernest Shepard), Creative Commons

by posted under 3rd Grade, All Ages, Family | No Comments »    

Email will not be published

Website example

Your Comment:



Skip to toolbar